Suicide Squad cast revealed

Jared Leto and Will Smith lead the cast of Warner Bros. Suicide Squad adaptation.

First announced in October as part of DC Comics’ film roadmap unto 2020, Suicide Squad follows a team of supervillians crafted into a black ops team by the US government in exchange for redemption. Directed by David Ayer and releasing in 2016, Warner Bros. today confirmed Suicide Squad will principally star:

  • Jared Leto as The Joker
  • Will Smith as Deadshot
  • Tom Hardy as Rick Flagg
  • Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn
  • Jai Courtney as Boomerang
  • Cara Delevingne as Enchantress

Leto in particular has recently be rumoured to star as The Joker, however today’s confirmation puts all speculation to rest.

In a statement on the Warner Bros. website, the studio’s President Greg Silverman stated “The Warner Bros. roots are deep on this one. David Ayer … brings his incredible ability to craft multidimensional villains to this iconic DC property … We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble, under Ayer’s amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero.”

Suicide Squad will be the second DC Comics film following next year’s Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice and will precede Gal Gadot’s solo Wonder Woman film, slated for release in 2017.

Posted by Alex

The head honcho, the editor-in-chief, the founder. Alex enjoys films (obviously), great TV shows, developing websites and writing about himself in the third person.

Back to article listing

Latest articles